Yugioh card effect rulings

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Rockman.exe Online Forum Index -> Anime, Manga & Games
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Valtz
Soul Unison



Joined: 16 Mar 2005
Posts: 765
Location: The world of Nekos!!! =^-^=

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2005 2:17 pm    Post subject: Yugioh card effect rulings Reply with quote

Ok since some of the rules in Yugioh are so fricking bendable I think some people should clear some things up

For example I hear that you can use Tribe Infecting Viruses effect as many times as you want during your turn as long as you have cards in hand.

Here's a question about that. It is only during your turn and not your opponent’s right???

Also say my opponent attacks me, then I activate Magic Cylinder, then he activates book of moon on his monster that just attacked. Does that mean that the attack is canceled and Magic Cylinder doesn't work???

Also if you have and questions about card effects please list them here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Enzan Chaud
[Tuxedo Mask]


Age: 36
Joined: 17 Mar 2005
Posts: 721
Location: Laredo, Texas

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2005 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.kishuku.com/reo/viewtopic.php?t=172&postdays=0&postorder=asc&&start=0

that could be used for anything on Yugioh cards...ya coulda asked there...

Tribe-Infecting's effect works as long as it's user has cards in his or her hand. It has nothing to do with turns since the card doesn't say"You may use this effect only during your turn".

And about your second question, Magic Cylinder still works. Since Magic Cylinder is activated as a result of the damage step, all Book of the Moon does is flip the monster. Also, he can't flip the monster back into attack until his turn has ended or he uses another card to flip it into attack.

The Magic Cylinder scenario you described should always go like this:
Opponent Monster declares an attack
Opponent Monster attacks
Magic Cylinder is used
Book of Moon is used

(now here's the tricky part)
Cards may only work in the order they were used, since Magic Cylinder was used first...
Damage calculation step, opponent loses X amount of life points.
Next Book of the Moon's effect is resolved, since it cannot counter anything.

Opponent flips their monster face down.
Battle Phase ends
Main Phase 2-Opponent may not switch Book of Moon monster into attack.
End Phase
_________________
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?ref=profile&id=100000142872316
http://mikaelthecreator.deviantart.com/
http://twitter.com/TheArtHero
http://www.myspace.com/the_masked_man
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Zodiac
Net Police



Joined: 16 Mar 2005
Posts: 434
Location: Avoiding the Author's whip. I'll edit. I promise!

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2005 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You forgot one thing. Magic Cylindar is, I believe, a COUNTER trap. Only another counter trap may be chained to a counter trap. Book of Moon is a quick play spell and cannot be chained to any counter trap. So if you play Magic Cylindar and someone tries to Book of Moon, remind them of that tidbit straight from the rule book.
_________________
Church: Are you following any of this?
Caboose: I think so. That guy Tex is a robot, and you're his boyfriend. So that makes you... a gay robot.
Church: ... That's right... I'm a gay robot.

Red Vs. Blue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Horoko
Net Savior



Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2005 2:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What the...uh...Magic Cylinder is a Normal Trap.

Chains always resolve backwards....not frontwards. The last card activated is the FIRST to take effect.

Monster attacks
Cylinder is activated
Book of Moon is activated from the hand in response.

Book of Moon takes affect, flipping Monster face-down

Cylinder checks for legal activation. None is found so it "fizzles."

The entire chain is resolved.

Also...

A Monster Card’s battle position in the Yu-Gi-Oh! TRADING CARD GAME can be changed in one of two ways:

1. A "manual" change. This is when you use your once-per-turn battle position change on a monster, during your Main Phase 1 or 2, to change it from attack position to defense position or vice versa. This includes a Flip Summon. There are some restrictions on when you can do this (see below).

2. A change because of a card effect. Examples: “Enemy Controller”, “Zero Gravity”, “Guardian Sphinx”, “Book of Moon” and “Tsukuyomi”.

A “manual” change can only be performed during your Main Phase 1 or 2. There are 3 exceptions that will prevent you from “manually” changing a monster’s battle position:

Exception #1: You cannot “manually” change the battle position of a monster if it declared an attack that turn (even if the attack was negated or a replay occurred).

Exception #2: You cannot “manually” change the battle position of a monster if it was Summoned or Set that turn by the turn player.

Exception #3: You cannot “manually” change the battle position of a monster if its battle position was already changed “manually” that turn (including if it was Flip Summoned).

Please note that:

You CAN always change the battle position of a monster with a card effect, even if any of the above exceptions prevent you from changing its battle position “manually”.

You CAN change the battle position of a monster “manually” if its battle position was changed by a card effect previously that turn (as long as none of the 3 exceptions exist). Example: You activate “Book of Moon” and flip a monster into face-down Defense Position. Then you can Flip Summon it that same turn, as long as none of the 3 exceptions exist.

You CAN change the battle position of a monster “manually” if it was Summoned or Set, but not by the turn player. Example: “Cyber Jar” Summons a monster on the opponent’s side of the field, and the turn player uses “Change of Heart” to take control of it, then Flip Summons it that same turn. This is a legal play (as long as none of the 3 exceptions exist).

You CAN change the battle position of a monster “manually” if it was returned to the field because of “Dimensionhole”, because it does not Summon the monster (as long as none of the 3 exceptions exists).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zodiac
Net Police



Joined: 16 Mar 2005
Posts: 434
Location: Avoiding the Author's whip. I'll edit. I promise!

PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2005 7:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darn. Sorry, I didn't have the card available when I posted. I guess I was thinking about Negate Attack. Thanks Horoko.
_________________
Church: Are you following any of this?
Caboose: I think so. That guy Tex is a robot, and you're his boyfriend. So that makes you... a gay robot.
Church: ... That's right... I'm a gay robot.

Red Vs. Blue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Rockman.exe Online Forum Index -> Anime, Manga & Games All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Bluetab template design by FF8Jake of FFD
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP